In many parts of the world, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

it is true that these days, many children have the autonomy to make a decision on their own. personally, I hold the belief that the advantages of this development are overshadowed by its disadvantages. on the one hand, those who support the freedom of youngsters may point out its positive effects on their mental health. it is worth mentioning that when children are allowed to make their own decisions, they are able to explore a myriad of interesting things, which can help them to broaden their horizons about the world and escape from their daily hectic schedules. for example, in viet nam, many extracurricular activities are celebrated in order to encourage more children to discover their passions freely without the control of parents or teachers. due to opportunities, youngsters are likely to have an optimistic view towards their life and enrich their knowledge of the outside world. on the other hand,the drawbacks of this trend need to be taken into consideration significantly, without the management of adults, children can get involved in social issues, which would have a detrimental impact on their future lives. for instance, people who commit a crime at an early age are unable to find a suitable job in the future. furthermore, teens need the assistance of their parents and teachers, because there a still a lot of things that they need to absorb with a view to becoming good citizens. therefore, too much freedom can affect negatively children's life. in conclusion, I am of the opinion that the merits of this tendency are eclipsed by its demerits. it is predicted that technological devices will accompany youngsters to control them in certain situations in the future.