In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It has become a trend that the population in the countryside is declining due to individuals being more willing to move to metropolitan areas. However, this essay contends that this may be more likely to cause certain detriments, especially in terms of survival problems and pollution. One primary reason is that excessive population in urban regions could lead to humans hard to live. For instance, in Hong Kong, because its capital has developed comprehensively, rural residents increasingly migrate to this developed area, thereby improving their quality of life. However, this phenomenon results in that each human only has 0.93 m2 of space to survive. At the same time, the overabundant population may have a higher likelihood of causing hygiene issues, increasing the risk of diseases, and ultimately making local people fall into a vicious cycle. Therefore, it is unsurprising that overpopulation might lead to some serious effects. Another crucial reason is that the abundant population in some cities might cause some pollution. This is because the public consistently utilizes different transport, such as vehicles, trains and aeroplanes, which will generate considerable emissions. For example, in Beijing, due to excessive population, the local emissions have exacerbated their atmosphere, decreasing the visibility of this area. Moreover, noise pollution is another hazardous factor, which comes from public transit, and may affect humans' emotions. This effect is more likely to deteriorate the social harmonic aspect as well as disrupt residents' physical and mental development. In conclusion, despite the fact that migrating to some developed metropolitan regions can have a higher likelihood of enhancing the quality of life, this may eventually lead to overpopulation. Furthermore, overpopulation would result in some drawbacks, particularly in survival difficulties, and other types of pollution.