In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Traditional clothes have long been a part of a lifestyle for many societies. But with the development of globalisation and international communications, communities today are gradually shifting to Western clothes. Although this means that some cultures will lose a part of their traditional inheritance, I believe it will be more beneficial for them than preserving their conventional clothes. One of the reasons why traditional clothes are becoming unpopular is because they are often less comfortable than modern clothes. They are usually very tall or heavy, making them impractical for daily wear. Another reason for this trend could be that many people try to relate to European and American societies. Their movies, produced in Hollywood or other famous film studios, have a significant influence on contemporary trends in clothing, where actors usually wear jeans and suits. As a result, these movies directly trigger clothing favours of people worldwide. The trend for Western clothes is certainly exposing some parts of cultures to the risk of being lost. However, in the long term, people will only benefit from this development. Since Western clothes are generally more comfortable and practical, people feel how this reflects on their productivity in accomplishing their daily chores, such as housework or profession. Furthermore, there would be less discrimination occurring in the world if everyone followed similar clothing standards. For example, international students visiting a foreign country would not have to revamp their clothing habits to adjust to the local surroundings. In a nutshell, a significant value is given to preserving national and traditional clothes. Still, in my opinion, the Western style of clothing is more practical for every occasion. Thus shifting to their norms of outfit will be more beneficial than maintaining traditional standards in the long term.