It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often said that risks play a pivotal role in both occupations and private lives. In spite of the short-term harmfulness this trend causes to people, it provides a lot of opportunities and I believe this advantage far outweighs any potential disadvantages. On the one hand, making a risky move can hurt a person in the short term. For example, students who receive financial support from their primary guardians find it extremely hard to be independent on their first days of studying abroad. Specifically, they have to look for jobs to make ends meet, which is more challenging compared to the time they live with their parents. The same can be true of making a career switch that involves a big pay cut. To be more specific, individuals have to sacrifice the high income provided by their old jobs to start over in a new sector. Consequently, they have to temporarily receive a low salary package at the beginning of their new stage. On the other hand, I would argue that the advantage is more significant. On the positive side, risks bring opportunities. For instance, a woman who is brave enough to give up her traumatic marriage is more likely to have a happy ending with a new partner in the future. Another good example comes from Bill Gates. If he hadn’t dropped out of university to start a business, he wouldn’t have created Microsoft, a multibillion-dollar company that is famous across the globe, making him one of the richest men in the world. In conclusion, even though taking risks brings an adverse effect short term, it provides a lot of opportunities. Therefore, I believe that the downside is greatly outweighed by the upside.