Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The advanced communication methods have widely impacted people's lives. This has led to less socializing time with friends and family, which has negatively affected the communities. In this essay, I will explain the reasons why I agree with this statement. On the one hand, social media has isolated individuals from their surrounding environment. Due to the feeling of satisfaction it provides for them, people have lost the passion for gathering and enjoying social activities. For example, a few years ago, in downtown Jordan, friends used to meet weekly and have some entertainment. Today, however, people are no longer interested in such gatherings, because they can find happiness while chatting together for hours on WhatsApp groups or Messenger. Unfortunately, individuals don't realize the need for social communication with their friends anymore. On the other hand, easy telecommunication has increased virtual daily communication between family members, which has led them to ignore in-person family visits, as they feel that they are with the family most of the time. For instance, my sister did not make an effort last year to join my son's birthday, she sent him a very nice birthday card along with his favorite song by email. While it is a creative idea to use technology to make things easier, I believe family events should not be managed online, as it has always been a socializing opportunity. In conclusion, using technology for communication is helpful in many cases. However, its drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Individuals don't feel the importance of physical communication with their friends and families.