Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A segment of society suggests that international tourists should adapt and accept the cultural traditions as could be a way for tourists to learn about their culture, which I agree with. However, others suggest that nations who receive visitors should adapt to them to welcome diversity because this can improve the communication. On the one hand, some individuals suggest that foreigners should adapt and respect local traditions. This is because visitors will be able to learn the local culture. In other words, if tourists make an effort to follow local rules and routines, cultural transmission can be possible. For example, if an American citizen visits China, the visitor should try to learn from locals their routines, food types, local songs, and the way they interact with nature. If this is not the case, tourists would lose the opportunity to truly learn from Chinese traditions. In my opinion, it is crucial for any tourist to respect and follow local activities in a way to be enriched with the place are visiting. On the other hand, others argue that locals should accept diversity and be adapted to visitors. This is because this would improve the communication with them. If local people want to have a better communication experience with travelers, they should even learn other languages, for example, English. As a result, locals will be able to have better opportunities to interact with people from around the world. I disagree with this idea, as will only help a small number of English countries, and learning a few words will not make a great difference. In conclusion, while a group of individuals suggest that international tourists have to adapt and follow local traditions, others state that locals should be more flexible as could improve their communication. I believe that visitors must follow local rules and adapt to the country they are visiting, not the contrary.