In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

These days, bookshop shelves and TV schedules are heaving with crime stories worldwide. They have become favoured because of their atmosphere which can provide a sense of excitement and anticipation. I am a big admirer of this genre myself but in my judgement this is not the one and only reason, why they are popular. I tend to believe that reading or watching such stories are so gripping because of granting people an opportunity of immersing themselves in mysterious and unsolved situations. Criminal stories always seem exciting and fascinating. They usually have a number of details that you can return to late to understand how thoughtfully and logically the author described them and placed them exactly where they should be. Over and above that, the characters in crime fiction and TV crime dramas are often complex and multidimensional, making them engaging for viewers. The viewer or reader of such works is always looking forward to the denouement, because in it the logic of events and the motivation of all the characters becomes fully explained. For me personally, the popularity of crime fiction and dramas can be attributed to their ability to bring viewers and readers to a world of mystery and suspense. They often involve complex plotlines and captivating characters, making them irresistible to watch. For instance, every year we observe more and more remakes of detective classics such as Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle, because they allow viewers to vicariously experience the detective's journey, as well as the excitement of the investigation. To conclude, detectives are preferred by people who like the thought process, are interested in the logic of events and the motivation of human actions. It is important for them not just to distract themselves, but to understand the cause-and-effect relationships, delve into the details, understand the psychology of the actors and immerse themselves in the details of the plot, especially if it is not straightforward, but multi-layered.