In some cultures elderly people are highly valued, while in some other cultures youth are more valued. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Senior and junior citizens are of different significance in different cultures, however, I believe both parties should be paid equal attention as they are equally vital to our society. The ageing community have its great experience and unique skills that can be imparted to the next generations, while youngsters are so much creative and innovative as to promote an advanced society. As technology is advancing apace, the number of people devoted to the high-tech industry is ever-expanding for well-paid salaries, causing the traditional crafts industry to become less attractive to newcomers. However, the old people with unique craft skills still insist on making crafts in an attempt to preserve our cultural treasures. Also, old people can foster young generations better through richer experiences and problem-solving skills. It is therefore reasonable that the elders are highly valued because of their experience and craftsmanship. Nevertheless, reasons abound for the priority to invest in young generations now, one of which is their greater creativity. The youth is able to come up with numerous different novel ideas to boost the moribund field. For instance, the emergence of live streaming and TikTok selling of handiwork on TikTok or other e-commerce platforms is because more young people engage in social networks rather than face-to-face activities. Thus, the innovation from the young group is useful to develop the business and even spread the traditional culture. From where I stand, a key to protecting traditions and promoting development is to combine the older with the youth to complete work together. The traditional skills that the elders systematically pass on to the youth benefit cultural preservation. In contrast, younger folk also can take advantage of their creative power to carry the culture forward all over the world. In summary, it is critical to respect both groups to conserve a valuable culture, and then realize their potential to encourage the development of craftsmanship.