In many countries, formal exams are used to assist students' abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assist students' abilities? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks?

Children’s education has always been one of the main focuses as the future of the development of a country equally depends on the education level of the population. But how do you measure the education level or abilities of students? The most common way has been to teach the children and take periodic formal exams from time to time to test different aspects. This has its own advantages and disadvantages. With time the education system has evolved a lot, and so has the examination procedure. Previously, only paper-based tests were conducted. But now computer-based tests have become more common. But the idea is the same – to have students gather in an institution and take the formal exam. The major advantage of this system was discipline. The idea of exams instills the students with a sense of competition to excel in that particular field. Also, the formal exams help identify the students who actually excel in different subjects. For example, there are many students who study medicine, but not everyone can become a doctor. Hence, MBBS entrance exams are held to identify the talented individuals who would succeed as medical professionals. As opposed to the above, it’s not like the formal examination does not have side effects on society. In today’s world, with the increasing competition and struggle to survive, people are not able to cope with the depression and pressure that comes with giving an exam. Young children have been known to end their life just because they could not excel in a certain exam. For example, statistics were published last year that nearly 10% of students who suicide soon after the exam results are published. This is caused by the pressure of excelling in an exam which they weren’t even interested in. Another disadvantage is that formal exams sometimes have a defined set of subjects or fields, and the student has to excel in all. However, no one can excel in all aspects of life. Just like, not every child can become a pilot or an engineer. To conclude, even though there are drawbacks of formal examinations, the benefits still outweigh the disadvantages. They are a strong and accurate way of determining the best possible talent for a field or a job. People simply cannot be hired randomly to do a professional’s job. I agree that there can be improvements in the methodology and grading of the exams, but they are a necessity for all to identify and evaluate their ability and understanding.