More and more adults are playing computer games. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Over the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the number of adults playing games on their computers. This essay discusses that the main reason for this development is the advancement in technology and agrees that this is a positive trend. One of the primary causes for adults opting to play computer games is innovations in gaming technology. Nowadays, games are more detailed and provide a better gaming experience when compared to the past due to newer inventions of hardware and software. As a result, there is a significant improvement in the audio and graphic quality. For example, recent games with features such as an interesting storyline, stunning visual graphics and interactive gameplay promote the adoption of gaming by most adults. To extend this further, playing video games has numerous benefits for adults. Firstly, it can help them relax after work. This is because most adults are focused on their careers and spend long stressful hours at their workplace without meaningful breaks. Playing games at home after a long day at work can positively affect their mental health by reducing stress levels. Moreover, it can help them overcome isolation as they can enjoy these online games in the company of their friends, thereby helping them to socialise. Secondly, most of the new releases are strategic games. Games belonging to this genre stimulate logical thinking among individuals which can aid their psychological development and can also provide solutions to real-world problems that an individual might face. For example, some games include proper management of the in-game currency for upgrades to their character, this could require advanced planning and money-saving skills which could further be extended for use in the real world. In conclusion, the evolution of technology has supported the demands of newer games and made them better hence, a growing number of adults prefer to play video games. In my opinion, it is a positive trend as it can aid in relaxation and strategic thinking.