The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to overweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Language is a characteristic feature of humans which forms the foundation for a society. In the current era, it is undoubtedly that English has expanded globally which helps to unify people from different parts of the world. This spread is believed to have more merits than demerits. Personally, I agree with this opinion. To begin with, using English on a global scale brings numerous benefits to humans. Firstly, it reduces communication barriers between countries regardless of cultural background, ethnicity and race which enhances the mutual understanding, interchange of ideas and worldwide cooperation. To illustrate, all international conferences, both political and non-political ones, are held in English as it is the language which most people are familiar with. Secondly, English is the gateway to a better quality of life. To be more specific, the ability to speak English not only helps individuals to travel to any part of the globe without any communication difficulties but also provides them with chances for higher education and better job opportunities. This is because English is the main language used at universities and multinational companies. This in turn enables people to improve their educational qualifications and economic status. On the other hand, the proliferation of English poses certain drawbacks. It is unavoidable that the dominance of English might lead to the extinction of minority languages which are less widely spoken and even vanished. This can be a huge loss of human culture. In other words, the sense of national identity can be affected remarkably. In addition, the spread of English can cause a cultural and linguistic replacement among non-native English speakers who might be forced to adopt English to compete in the global market. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the spread of English as a global language has more advantages than demerits since it has opened the doors to a brighter future and brought the world closer.