Many people believe that the construction of new public buildings like a museum, and art galleries are better than renovating the old ones. To what extent do you agree?

Many today argue that public places such as museums and galleries should be located in historical buildings. Others think that making new public buildings is better than refurbishing the old ones. In this essay, we will discuss both points of view then followed by a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, old buildings are the right place for a museum with a great historical atmosphere inside and it looks harmonical when the beautiful exterior is connected with the same interior. Moreover, the old buildings also have an architectural value and could be part of art. For example, the art museum in Venice is located in the centre of the city in a building that was built in the 15th century, and in this case, it is impossible to imagine how to integrate the new construction into the historical quarter. On the other hand, for public places, there are necessary big areas which are not frequently possible to get in old buildings and the best decision, in this case, will be to build a new one. In addition, in modern construction, it is possible to create important engineering communications, such as security systems, air conditioning, wet control, fire safety, and many others, which are difficult to integrate into old builds. For instance, only fires demolished about 1% of worldwide cultural legacy in the 20th century. To conclude, despite all drawbacks of old buildings, I strongly believe that frequently they look nicer than new ones. In my opinion, the best way for public buildings is to save the facade of old builds but make new constructions inside with all necessary communications.