Write about the following topic: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

News is one of the best ways to be informed about current affairs. It is often argued that the current form of consuming news via newspapers and TV is not appealing to youngsters. This essay will discuss the main causes of this decline and outline the solutions. Among the younger generation, compared to consuming news via TV and newspapers, phones act as a one-stop place for consuming media, news, playing games and many more. Furthermore, with the emergence of social media, youngsters prefer short updates rather than time-consuming news updates. For example, Twitter a social media company with a mobile app, has been named as the desired location to consume news in Europe. There are two critical solutions to this problem, such as adopting mobile applications and leveraging social media. With a dedicated mobile application for news, the agency can share news updates directly to the phones of youngsters, thus increasing their viewership. In addition, agencies can become more prominent in social media, thus enabling them to share customised short updates of news all day. For instance, BBC saw an increase in followership for its channel after it started sharing news on social media. In conclusion, youngsters do not prefer to consume news through TV and newspaper. This essay discussed how increased usage of phones and preference for short news updates via social media is contributing to this problem. Also, this essay suggested that the solutions to this problem are twofold: the introduction of a dedicated mobile application and using social media as a platform to share short news updates.