Government invest in the arts, such as music and theatre is waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reason for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is often argued that the government is wasting its budget on the arts like music and theatre rather than investing in public services. To some extent I do agree with this statement however, keeping money for the arts is also valuable. To begin with, people living in any country require free education and medical treatment. Not all are affordable to get these. It is the authority's responsibility to keep most of the funds in public service by which it can provide free learning and health facilities to the needy. For example, in my country, state schools were running with fewer facilities and faculties. After the protests from some public organisations, the administration increased the funds and developed the schools. Moreover, the same thing happened to public hospitals. Also, it introduced the Arogya Bhagya scheme to middle-class and lower-class families by which they can get free treatment in private hospitals. On the other hand, the development of the arts by providing financial support is also essential. Many people, who depend on their talent, run their families. Skills such as music and theatre will help to showcase our culture and the route of our nation to the world. For instance, I belong to India and our classical music is famous worldwide. As well, the government is giving subsidies to the artists by which it provides support to the art. To conclude, investing in public services is necessary and government must keep large funds in its annual budget. Also, part of the budget should be utilised for the arts as well. Thus, investing in public services and arts will help the people and the country's culture respectively.