Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that people from around the world are increasingly demanding a vast amount of energy resources like oil and natural gas in today’s era. Consequently, the drilling of these sources are escalated to fulfil higher demands, and now it has become near to end in the near future. Therefore, some major countries are trying to find remote and untouched places, such as the North Pole, for this task. However, I firmly believe that the disadvantages of this phenomenon would exceed rather than benefits of it. There are advantages to using this strategy. Because every people wish to achieve greener pastures. As a result, there is more consumerism. For instance, among fossil fuels, oil has a high energy density and is easily available to produce various forms of energy. In addition to that it can be utilized for multiple purposes humankind such as heating homes, running cars and planes and production of goods. Hence it is a paramount factor to search for new regions due to their’ non-renewable nature, otherwise, it will impact negatively on the economic growth of the country. However, despite this, the primary disadvantage of extracting these untouched places is that they will cause significant environmental damage. As an example, the Antarctic region is home to many glaciers and animals like polar bears and penguins. Because such extraction would harm the habitats, and in particular, any spillages would be disastrous to the environment. Not only this, other drawbacks are global warming and adverse climate changes. The excessive use of fossil fuels and oil draw out leads to a surge in global temperatures. So, exploitation of the green regions and drilling of natural resources will directly threaten the whole earth. To sum up, although the extraction of natural resources has certain benefits, it also has a wide range of pitfalls to the ecosystem, which are outweighing the gains. Thus, in my opinion, humans should stop exploring undiscovered lands to utilize their needs, and it is better to seek alternatives.