In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

There are pros and cons about high school graduates ' jobs and travels. Some people believe that letting high school graduates work or go travel before they start their university lives have many benefits while others claim that there are more disadvantages in it. In this essay, I will explain advantages and disadvantages with reasons and examples about this issue and give my opinion. First of all, it is true that works and travels of high school graduates can be unnecessary. The period between graduation and starting university studies may be one of the most important time, which they can take a rest or seek their interest without any financial and career burden. For instance, spending their time on earning money might be waste after graduation because they can do it while university studies. Therefore, highschool graduates should consider seriously on choosing activities between finishing school and beginning college. On the other hand, despite its negative aspects, there are more positive aspects about this issue. Working or travelling is one of the best opportunities which graduates can get many experiences and widen their sight. They can meet new co-workers or friends and be exposed to different cultures. For example, they can improve their abilities such as communication and creativity while solving problems in workplace or experience unique culture in travel destination. Thus, if some graduates spend their time meaningfully after graduation, having a job or going travel is one of the most appropriate way. In conclusion, while experiencing work or trip is not always essential, it provides a lot of advantages such as increasing experiences and friends, which can make them more mature.