The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries ,particularly developing countries. What are the causes of such hunting? What are the effects on the animals and on the wider human society in these countries and beyond .

In past decades illegal hunting of wild animals had become a common practice, and continued regardless of implemented restrictions that raise concerns in some developing countries. The reasons why this act is done are purely for pleasure and status symbols. As a result, it leads to a significant decrease in its number in the wild and the extinction of delicate species. The major reason why animal hunters hunt animals illegally in the wild is for their self-satisfaction. Some people find happiness and self-gratification by catching them with their bare hands. Money is another cause why people are motivated to kill and hunt animals, since the price tag for each rare species is quite expensive for the collectors. Like the head of the renders or fur of the fox that many wealthy individuals would pay as much just to have them. Lastly, preserved wild animal parts, clothing or accessories as collections can boost the status in society as this would depict power, wealth and dominance. On the other hand, a continuous practice could be detrimental to the species and environment. A non-stop killing and body parts harvesting for pleasure and businesses could lead to extinction. This would imbalance the natural habitat and co-existence of animals in the wild. Secondly, the process is debilitating in our ecosystem as this alters the balance, there would be a vast number of prey, like hyenas lurking around killing smaller species due to a lack of predators such as lions. In addition, overconsumption of animals by humans destroys other things such as trees, and plants, leaving a carbon footprint that is harmful to the environment. In conclusion, it is certain that illegal hunting of wild animals will continue, however, it could be prevented if hunters will be strongly prohibited from doing so. The alarming effect will not limit to some particular country but globally if there is an imbalance in our mother nature. The government plays a vital role in preserving the number of animals in the wild by creating policies and initiatives that prevent hunting from their current practice.