In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Over the last few years, companies have opted for anew method of advertising which is to highlight new things about their product. This phenomenon has now become common for advertisers and as such requires thorough investigation. This essay will delve deeper into the reasons behind it and how it could both benefit the consumer and achieve the goals of advertisers. Firstly, to find the reasons we must look into what factors are important for a potential consumer. When looking for a product, the potential buyer will look for all the items that might satisfy their need. As a result, businesses want their product to stand out among all other brands and something new, although small, will achieve that. Moreover, all advertisements need talking points; Something that stays in the minds of buyers when they make a purchase and being new in some way has this effect. For instance, take someone who is looking to buy a car from the company. They are more likely to buy the car that has been advertised as being something new and exciting. In my view, this trend is a positive one. Due to the fact that these types of advertisements are working well, companies are actively looking for something new to better their product and make it unique. Consequently, these types of competition benefit the consumer for they can now buy better items. For example, in the car industry, the competition to sell better has led to new and useful features such as self-driving. Overall, emphasising new and unique traits of a product in advertising is now common and it is for good reasons. Highlighting the fact that their product is unique will boost the number of sales and it is also good for the consumer because, in their efforts to come up with something new, companies often make better products.