As a result of tourism and the increasing no.of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems do this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problem?

With the growth of the population, a multitude of people has indulged in travelling during the past few decades. Most importantly, air travel is recognized as a prominent manner of globetrotting ascribed to convenience, effectiveness, enhanced security and so on. A recent study carried out in Singapore has distinguished that the popularity of overseas excursions has upsurged dramatically in the recent past. Aviation has been identified as a source of environmental degradation on account of excessively emitting greenhouse gases. In fact, it has been detected as the most polluting form of transport per passenger kilometre. Hence, the boost in demand for air travel has made aviation one of the rapidly expanding mediums of atmospheric contamination. Furthermore, these hazardous ejections of toxic gases substantially contribute to climate change. Additionally, the mass of carbon footprint generated by a single flight is capable of causing a detrimental impact on the ozone layer and therefore provoking global warming. Moreover, sound pollution can be denoted as another catastrophic consequence of air transportation. In essence, adverse effects on human health, wildlife and environmental quality can be originated through noise nuisance. Given the magnitude of this predicament, prompt actions should be taken. For this purpose, imposing strict regulations on the emission of harmful gases must be executed by the relevant authorities. As another option, sophisticated technologies can be incorporated, along with designing systems to dwindle the deleterious ramifications. On top of that, alternative fuels which reduce the intensity of environmental deterioration can be introduced. In addition, sustainable modes of transport could be considered (such as trains) whenever possible. In the case of business trips, teleconferencing can be done as a green resolution to tackle ecological corruption. In brief, the escalating demand for flights ascribed to the soaring population is identified as a strong factor that influences the frequency of flying. Numerous dilemmas are induced by this aspect which causes devastating repercussions for mother nature. Various countermeasures can be taken to abate the unfavourable outcomes of befouling the earth.