In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, advancement in the agricultural sector is growing rapidly and consistently. However, unfortunately, some people are still starving. This essay will describe the reason and also provide some solutions to this social problem. The main reason that contributes to a starving population in the middle of the high-tech agriculture era is the price setting. Goods, which were manufactured specially with the latest technology, are expensive in general and a portion of people, who came from a lower economic background, can’t afford them. For instance, all Genetically Modified Organism (GMO) and organic farm-produced crops in Jakarta, just in 2020, have twice to triple times higher prices than the commons and 40% of evaluated people stated that they weren’t able to buy them. Especially in rainy seasons, when most regular crops are easily rotten. Thus, high prices of these “special” crops contribute directly to the hunger problem. This difficulty can be solved, if we have a governmental aid system. For example, officers in the House of People's Representatives propose one policy about financial aid for GMO crops that target low-income families. Money support will be taken from the monthly public taxes. Thus, higher-income families help them indirectly. At the end of the day, regardless of whether this system is applied throughout the year or only in rainy seasons, all levels of society are able to benefit from modern agriculture technology. Moreover, the second proposed solution is asking for help from other countries. For example, making bilateral or multilateral coordination among developing and developed nations. Then, the more stable countries can supply certain highly demanded commodities periodically. Therefore, there is equal opportunity for food and we can avoid hunger problems. In conclusion, affordability is the main problem of hunger despite having sophisticated agricultural technology and there are two ways to combat it. The first one is giving money support from the internal government and the latter is making international coordination.