Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the problem of what sources are supposed to provide support for artists has been in the limelight in public and has drawn much attention from people. Regarding this issue, people have different views. Some people think that governments should financially support artists more, while others argue that alternative sources should be offered to them. From my perspective, these two different opinions both have their own benefits. My points of view will be illustrated in two aspects. On one hand, governments are absolutely supposed to support artists. As far as I am concerned, by supporting artists, governments are able to improve their cultural influence internationally. Because artists such as painters and musicians are outstanding symbols of countries and the cultural exchange envoys between countries. In order to publicize the country itself, governments should give more support to artists. For instance, it is known to all that Lang Lang is an excellent pianist in China and he is the cultural calling card of China. While performing all over the world, he carries forward the Chinese culture, especially the musical culture, to the world. Consequently, the audiences and fans who are attracted by Lang Lang will have a tendency to know China, which boosts China ’s international influence and is beneficial to the development of China. Therefore, governments are supposed to support financially to creative artists. On the other hand, it is necessary for artists to gain support from various sources, such as artists ’ own families, their fans and social and cultural organizations. Personally, i think that working in art is a little risky because of uncertain salaries and a changeable social environment. Therefore, artists are often in a variety of plights. Furthermore, cultivating an excellent artist requires numerous resources. Hence, alternative sources are indispensable in the process of fostering an artist. For example, there was an entertainment show about musicians in China called Songs in Hearts, which provided an incomparable platform for musicians to show their musical talent. There is no doubt that without this platform, these musicians may never be noticed by the public. Consequently, after this entertainment show, these musicians obtained plenty of fans and are more motivated in their careers, which in my opinion, was a win-win behaviour. To sum up, support should be provided by both governments and alternative sources because they play different roles in national cultural development. Governments are supposed to financially support artists because artists are able to improve the international influence of the country. Besides, other sources also should provide support in order to foster creative artists better. However, weighing up both sides of the argument, as discussed earlier, I will conclude by saying that government should be the main force in promoting the career development of artists, and also alternative sources should help in sometimes necessary.