The use of social media, such as Facebook, Instagram is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Online chatting via different messengers or social networks is becoming more popular than real conversations nowadays. While I understand that critics may see it as deviant behaviour, I believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks. It is undeniable that social media made our life much easier. This new technology allows people to exchange information faster. As a consequence, a lot of big companies reduced their costs by getting appropriate data easier and in a more convenient form. For example, big consulting agencies use different messengers, such as Whatsapp or Telegram to communicate with their clients and employees. This process is much faster than arranging a face-to-face meeting, which can be postponed or even cancelled due to different reasons, and helped to optimize the work of consultants and increase their productivity. Moreover, social media allows people to communicate with their friends or relatives even if they are far away. All users of Instagram can send pictures, video messages and voice messages. This function helps people to keep in touch. For example, students can send photos to their parents from their universities and have phone calls with their childhood friends. On the other hand, people, who prefer to spend their time on the Internet, spend less time with their real families and friends. However, the latest researches shew that it is just visibility that people spend a huge amount of their lives surfing the Internet because almost two-thirds of all users of Facebook do not spend more than an hour on this social network. To sum up, the development of online chats and messengers has more pros than cons and they became a crucial part of our life.