Some feel that students should not have to take standardized tests in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of exams at school has gained increased attention and sparked controversy. While some assert that students should not take standardized ones, I strongly disagree with this belief for two reasons. Firstly, these types of tests are one of the proper approaches to measuring how they comprehend their studies and secondly, the criteria of other evaluations are basically unclear causing unfair results among students. The primary reason I disagree is that standardized tests are proper formats in order to measure if students understand academic materials. These can include historical incidents in history subjects or grammatical rules in language classes. For instance, standardized exams provide them with an opportunity they check their academic achievements. According to a recent article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper, many teachers in public high schools argue that installing this type of test is an appropriate method to build their basic academic understanding. Therefore, students are encouraged to take these at school in order to improve their cognitive levels. Further support for my perspective is that introducing different kinds of evaluation might lead to unfair outcomes in their academic scores. By way of an example, there are no clear evaluation methods for results in social activities such as volunteers or internships. Because of it, many students might be underestimated. In fact, research recently conducted by The University of Tokyo discovered that a huge number of students in Japan faced the above-mentioned situation resulting in their undesired future careers. However, standardized tests are much more transparent and fair. Thus, there are no alternative ways to provide academic scores to them fairly. In conclusion, I firmly believe that standardized tests at school bring advantages such as building basic knowledge bases and bringing transparent results among students.