Young people today mostly learn by reading books or watching movies, rather than real-life experiences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that films and books are a better approach for the young to shape their behaviours than learning them on their own. I completely disagree with this idea since movies and books often focus on extreme characters and learning through hands-on experiences is more impactful. To begin with, films and books are not a superior way for young people to learn good behaviours as there are many negative role models in most of them. To be more specific, characters in such forms are usually idealized or exaggerated to appeal to audiences; therefore, they often possess a set of behaviours that are regarded as immoral and violent in reality. For example, the image of the Joker in the movie with the same name is cruel and aggressive but admired by numerous young people in the world since he is considered to be a hero in some ways. As a result, many tend to imitate his actions in real life without realizing that these are wrong and have dire consequences. Another reason why I disagree is that people have a stronger emotional reaction to real experiences which means they learn more from them. First, they can remember what they gained more vividly. In fact, if they behave badly and are criticized by others, they could realize that their actions are totally wrong and annoy others to a significant extent; thus, they are more likely to avoid making the same mistakes in the future. It is also scientifically proven that knowledge is stored for a longer period of time if people experience it on their own due to a combination of senses. Furthermore, first-hand experiences enable young people to decide which behaviours suit them the most. This is because they will be learning behaviour in areas that they need whereas books and movies might be showing behaviour in contexts that are not relevant to them. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that movies and books instil good behaviours in young people since characters are often presented with violent behaviours, and learning through experience is more effective to control behaviour and attitudes as they can be better stored and are more suitable for each individual.