Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

It is undeniable that nowadays a increased number of people who are affected by a disease are preferring to use a different type of treatments and medicines instead of making an appointment with a doctor. I do believe that the positive aspect regarding financial resources does not surpass its drawbacks. On the one hand, one benefit regarding to the use of medicines is that it may be useful in order to save people’s money, because there is no need to pay for an expensive doctor's appointment or a health service. Consequently, people can probably find this type of alternative medicine more effective for them, since it may show health improvements and sometimes are a cheap alternative. For example, for individuals who do not have enough money this type of medicine can be more affordable and convenient since it has, in some cases, health properties which help to improve organ functions such as the heart, lungs or brain. On the other hand, one drawback related to the use of this type of alternatives medicines is that it can be harmful to individuals, as some types of diseases need to be closely monitored. As a consequence, people who do not have their disease course treated properly can be in a dangerous situation. For instance, there are some comorbidities such as diabetes, hypertension or cycle cell disease, which need to be strictly controlled by a doctor's visit, in order to have all the adverse effects well monitored, without this measure these diseases can easily attack individual'sindividual's organism, being lethal sometimes. To conclude even though the beneficial financial creates by not use of health services are not more effective than having a disease well controlled by a doctor visit regularly. Ideally, this measure should be taken individually, as each individual knows what choices are more liable for them.