Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In recent years, an increasing number of high school graduates have chosen to take a gap year before continuing their education or entering the workforce. While some people believe that this time off can be beneficial for personal growth and development, I think it may have negative consequences. I will explain my viewpoint in the following paragraphs. On the first hand, supporters of this idea have their justifications. First, a year that sets aside studying in school temporarily would assist students to develop comprehensively. To be specific, many school subjects prioritize knowledge acquisition over practical skills such as communication. Therefore, when working or traveling abroad in a gap year, students are able to have an opportunity to practice language skills and improve communication. Second, a gap year is a valuable time for pupils to find their passions. In reality, Vietnamese twelfth-grade students must study an identical and arduous academic program including chemicals or math so it is hard and they lack time for them to find their personal true calling. During a gap year, students have the opportunity to explore new interests and hobbies, such as drawing or dancing, which can help them discover their passions. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the pitfalls of said matter. First and foremost, the learning process is disruptive and creates many difficulties for learners when they return to learning. For majors such as medicine that require a strong foundation in high school -level biology, taking a gap year may result in forgetting important concepts and needing to review them upon returning to school. Second, a gap year will be extremely expensive for undergraduates, especially when they travel. For example, an employee lacking a university degree will often receive relatively low remuneration to cover their expenses. Furthermore, if students choose to travel, they must endeavor to finance their trip without a source of income. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the merits of a gap year are that it creates conditions for students to seek their true calling and develop in the perfect ways. However, I still oppose taking a gap year due to the expenditure of it and barriers for pupils when coming back to academic learning.