Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A significant number of researchers negate the reciprocal relationship between the affluence of a nation and the satisfaction of citizens in that country. However, this topic has become a controversial issue, and I think that this opinion is completely unreasonable. I will explain my viewpoint in the following paragraphs. On the first hand, supporters of this opinion have their rational grounds. Firstly, a state is increasingly prosperous, resulting in the cost which its civilians have to pay for living. In fact, the government of Korea, which has the leading economic development rate in the world, is extremely concerned about the surge of slums in the center of Seoul. The residents of this low-income neighbourhood said that they are unable to afford the consistent growth of the expenditure for basic needs, namely food and shelter. Therefore, they must opt for a shabby home in order to save money. Secondly, the thriving of a nation is not the only measure of one’s satisfaction. To be specific, there are countless factors to take into account such as well-being, and the care of surrounding people, and each individual has diverse measurements of his happiness. In particular, many children of wealthy families committed suicide due to the lack of freedom and the care of their parents. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the pitfalls of this issue. First and foremost, while the affluent of a nation is not the only element that leads to satisfaction, it still plays an important role in it. In rich countries, economic growth can improve the quality of life through better public services or social welfare. That is why developed countries, including America and England, are always the dream living locations of most individuals around the world. Besides, despite the increased cost of living, residents in thriving nations fully enjoy modern public resources such as schools. Therefore, their offspring will have access to advanced educational programs, which are better than most other nations. In conclusion, this opinion of some experts is plausible because of the inaccurate measurement method and negative consequences of economic development such as the elevation of the cost of living. However, the indisputable benefits of prosperous nations offset the stated arguments.