Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society?

Nowadays, fewer students all across the world opt to study science at the university. This essay will discuss the justification for this phenomenon, as well as how it will affect society. Many students find science -related subjects, such as medicine and computer science to be harder than their social science counterparts. Not only do students have to learn a lot of complicated theories, they are obligated to participate in lab experiments as a part of the curriculum. For instance, there is a large number of students in Bandung Institute of Technology every year, who withdraw from their studies because they cannot adapt to the academic intensity. Furthermore, there is a lack of appreciation for scientists when it comes to salaries. Compared to corporate lawyers and managers, many scientists get paid way less, which is ironic considering their prestigious educational background. This become a huge issue as everything requires money these days. In addition to that, job opportunities in the science field are limited, consequently, it becomes even more competitive for job seekers. This issue can be crucial, especially in developing countries. The lack of scientists implies research progress and technological advancement are hindered and as a consequence, the development of the country as a whole would be slowed down. To conclude, the lower interest rate for science studies is caused by the pressure of the learning system itself and salaries that don't match the qualifications required from the scientists.