In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In various nations around the world, youngsters are advocated to have a gap year before they start their graduate study in university. This gap year generates a significant portion particularly when girls and boys travel or work, but it has also certain drawbacks too. This essay shall examine the pros and cons of this gap year and draw a logical conclusion. There are two main benefits of this year for students. Firstly, through travelling, students shall expand their horizons. For instance, when girls and boys travel, they will experience foreign cultures and languages. Consequently, this will develop students ’ learning efficiency and become capable to choose the most significant field of study to fit the world's needs. In addition, when students work in this year, they will be fully aware of what should they study. This is because they will discover the market opportunities and needs. As a result, they will be more capable to choose their university field of study precisely. On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In the first place, travelling could cause students to have financial issues. To illustrate, students have to pay a lot of money when they travel. In extreme circumstances, students may not be able to enrol on the university after the gap year. Additionally, youngsters may not return to thinking about their university degrees. That is to say, when they experience financial freedom, they may swerve from having a degree. Nevertheless, proper personal management can eliminate these drawbacks. To sum up, many people overseas advise students to leave a year to travel or to work before enrolling the university. Although this has certain pros like expanding youth horizons and being able to select the proper study field, it has an extremely negative impact such as financial issues and even not having a degree. Personally, I believe that students have to think carefully before entering this adventure.