Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

In recent years, many individuals tend to take pills available at home rather than checking up with nearby hospitals or doctors. From my perspective, both have their own advantages and drawbacks in our society and public health, and I will discuss them in the following essays. On the one hand, there are many positive effects of people choosing the correct therapy without taking advice from a doctor. Firstly, it can save a lot of time and money and fast-effective method. For example, those who are not getting the privilege of hospitals and health centres can definitely get a faster recovery by taking pills from the pharmacy. Secondly, it prevents the overload and stress on doctors and nurses. Last but not least, it can provide more attention to those patients in true emergencies and it is beneficial for society as well. On the other hand, not taking doctor's prescribed medicine can be harmful and can cause negative impacts on our health. Most people do not entirely understand themselves, such as how many doses should they take or the sources and ingredients that might potentially cause allergies which threaten their well-being. For instance, in Taiwan, there were various cases that people get seriously allergic by taking unsuitable medicines, some of them even died by overdosing on the medicine. In conclusion, both methods have their own pros and cons. In my opinion, every human has the basic right to choose their preferred medical treatment whenever they feel sick.