The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and social as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, more and more people use advanced technologies for communication. This leads to a greater effect of social media on the whole society and also on their own relationships. From my perspective, the drawbacks of the effect are still overwhelmed by the good points. On the one hand, there are many advantages to using social media for communication. One of the best features is that it can eliminate the loss of information among people. This is because the speed of transmitting messages on these internet platforms is only counted in milliseconds without the limitation of time and locations, regardless of the length of messages. As a result, people can update the information immediately, every time and everywhere. On the other hand, aside from the benefits of communicating through internet platforms, this may become a time -wasting machine for people. Due to its convenience, some people can psychologically addict these platforms. Therefore, they may spend a ton of time using social media. However, this issue can be solved easily by self-discipline. People can set some of their own rules or use some applications while using social platforms to hinder from consuming too much time on that. In conclusion, the advantages of communication on internet applications are greater then its oppsite side. Although people can get addicted to social media, which can be easily overcome, it is extremely efficient for transmitting information.