People spend too much time on the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

These days internet and technology have a great influence on people's lives. Although some argue that browsing the internet for several hours can be helpful for individuals, I believe that spending too many hours on different sites can become an adverse experience. The main reason why I believe that wasting too much time online can have a negative impact on our lives is that people lose their feeling of reality. In other words, a person can forget about his or her life and family, just diving into online sites and social media for hours. To illustrate, my friend likes to search the internet for different funny videos and can spend literally hours on them. Had she not watched them for so long, she would have not missed her plane to her family. Another reason why spending much time online can adversely affect one's everyday life is that it can provide bad health consequences. More specifically, looking too much at a gadget's screen can lead to damaging his or her eyes. For instance, my father used to spend too much time watching sports games online on his phone. He would take his phone too close to his eyes, which led to spoiling his vision with flashlights from the screen. Had he not watched the games for too long and too close, he would not have had to wear glasses then. In conclusion, I believe that overspending time online can lead to negative consequences. This is because people forget about their real life and can have health issues later.