15. Some people believe that university students should pay for their tuition fees because university education only benefits students themselves, not society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some have suggested that university students should fund their tertiary education for the reason that they benefit from it instead of the societies they live in. I tend to disagree with this. Admittedly, university graduates do typically reap rewards from their degrees, and an obvious one is that they invariably have higher salaries than those who leave secondary school and commence employment immediately. Higher-skilled jobs usually demand university qualifications, as evidence of a deeper understanding of a certain field. Doctors and lawyers, for example, who in most countries are among the most wealthy, capitalize on their degrees by receiving incomes often far above their less skilled compatriots. In this way, it could be argued that they should contribute to the cost of their education rather than being funded by the public purse. Nevertheless, I disagree with students paying their own fees for two main reasons. Firstly, societies benefit greatly from educating their people, as the latter can contribute more to providing vital services and innovations. University graduates are more likely to start companies, employ people, invest in technologies and pay taxes l of which are essential for an economy to develop. Secondly, and equally importantly, some of the most gifted potential students come from lower-income families, and they might not be able to study if they were forced to pay for their tuition. By finding their education, governments can ensure they can access a wide variety of roles that contribute to society in many ways, such as social work, community services, and working in the arts sector. Overall, it is my view that, while some people do profit individually from their university degrees, society benefits more, and therefore students should not pay for their fees.