Many people use social media every day to get in touch with other people and obtain the news. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

We are now living in the 21st century where social media has been developed very much in the technological development era. Although there are some small problems with the widespread use of social media, I think this trend brings more pros than cons. Actually, when we use the Internet for a long time, we can suffer from some health problems like eye strain or headache. Why these problems appear is very easy to explain. If we spend all our time looking at the screen of our phone or PC, the light and waves of the screen can negatively affect our eyes or brain and this may cause these symptoms below. Moreover, using social media everyday can be a bad habit because we do not have sufficient time for other activities like sports, family gathering or housework. Nevertheless, the invention of social media provides humans many different benefits in entertainment, communication, working or education. First and foremost, social media helps us have an easier and faster way to keep in touch with all other people from all over the world. We can also access news immediately with the fast speed of the Internet without waiting for a long time as in the past. For instance, a football fan in Vietnam can watch the live match of Real Madrid and Manchester United in Europe through a small screen thanks to many online apps or Internet channels. In addition, education and working are supported a lot by social media. For example, before the existence of social media, teachers had to call or send SMS messages to students’ parents, and this way cost quite a lot of money, but now, they only need to have a smartphone with online chatting apps to exchange information with parents about their offsprings. Furthermore, some multinational online meetings which are held at the time when the world was suffering from COVID-19 helped the governments of all countries and the leaders of international organizations discuss solutions to resolve this dangerous disease. In a nutshell, we can hardly say that social media does not have any backwards, but the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages.