Many people use social media every day to get in touch with other people and obtain the news. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages? (MEDIA)

It is a common belief that many people use social media every day to get in touch with other people and obtain the news. However, there is a more persuasive argument that using social media too much can make people depressed and affected by fake news. On the one hand, Social media can help people relax with news and call their friends. It is a happy time for users. Citizens can join social media so easily. They just need a smartphone or computer with the internet. After that, people can create an account and talk or chat with anyone if they want. In their free time, people always read news free on social media but do not need to pay money for newspapers. For instance, in my university, students are really busy, so in their break times, they usually join social media or read news on smartphones like Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook,... and get a lot of information about showbiz, worldwide, nature… From that point, they can get much knowledge of mankind and that is good for their future. Nevertheless, people use social media too much because they have neurological problems. They are increasingly closed and shy to talk with others. Some criminals can use social media to steal information and money from users. The government can not control the content on the Internet because that is private to citizens, so a lot of fake news is not good for users. For example, research has shown that sixty per cent of teenagers are affected by toxic information on the Internet and fake news. Furthermore, the toxic news and bad friends on the Internet make them against their parents and teachers. To sum up, there are some disadvantages to using social media in life. It is evident that the advantages of the Internet and social media are helpful for users in the social century.