Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

With the advent of the IT revolution in the 20th century, the lifestyle of the present generation is sedentary, owing to the nature of the work they do, like mostly sitting in front of computers for almost half of the day. So, to keep your fitness level high one must burn fat by doing some exercise or outdoor activities. Some critics assert that governments should invest more in outdoor games, whereas another section argues that there are other various ways to improve physical fitness. Both methods have their own advantages which will be discussed in this essay and will be concluded with an opinion. One of the prominent reasons why the masses believe that by playing sports such as football, and tennis, the unwanted calories are burnt very quickly while enjoying the sports. In other words, having fun activities along with the benefits of improving fitness can easily attract the present generation. In a community park near my home, for example, I see children play football daily and they will have better stamina and strength. Moreover, these classes of activities reduce the engagement of adolescents with laptops or mobile games, which has a damaging effect on the eyes and brain. However, such rigorous games require extra time from your daily routine, so they cannot involve all segments. On the other hand, the public authorities can invest to build a well-connected public transport system, so that office commuters, as well as the public, can use it for daily commuting, as a result, the majority of the population will be involved with some level of physical activity in their routine, which means no need to devote extra time for exercise. For example, referring to the latest WHO report on the comparison of health standards across the world, the life expectancy in Japan is higher, because 95% of the people use public transport rather than personal cars. Moreover, this will reduce air pollution and make the environment cleaner, consequently, everyone can breathe fresh and cleaner air, thereby bolstering better health standards. To conclude, the superior way to engage the community for better health standards is not by encouraging them to involve in sports but by investing better in public infrastructure mainly, transport which can target a wider age group.