Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Issues such as global warming, pollution and deforestation are pressing people to be more environmentally responsible and reduce the footprint of our world. Some state that individual households don’t recycle as much waste as they should, and the only option to improve recycling habits is a mandate from the government. In my opinion, the authority should raise individual recycling awareness and provide an incentive system for businesses to improve the adoption of recycling. Manufacturing new products using raw materials produces more carbon dioxide and landfills which causes a detrimental impact on the environment. Most people don’t do recycling because they are unaware of the negative impacts and their footprint on the environment. Thus, the government should educate first rather than promote the legal system. People should be informed that the consequences of not recycling can contribute to air pollution, the emission of undesirable gases, the demise of wildlife, and finally endangering our existence. Propagation of recycling should channel via multiple mediums and face-to-face to reach everyone living in the country. In addition, the government should promote reduce, reuse, and recycle policy and support the community by providing the necessities. Besides informing and educating the public, the government should also work with businesses to increase recycling. For example, the government urges businesses to reuse recycled plastic rather than the original raw material during the production of goods. Also, businesses which use recycled plastic are fragmented in the market and the government should encourage them by providing grants and tax incentives. To conclude, people will do recycling as a daily routine if they are aware of its importance, and I personally believe it is not fair for them to be penalized for something they are not aware of.