The government should make laws about people's nutrition and food choice. Others argue that would be their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some contend that there should be laws to regulate people's nutrition and food choices to enhance public health, whereas others reckon that they should have the right to eat what they want. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my opinion. On the one hand, proponents of government intervention highlight the importance of public health and the overall well-being of the population. They argue that unhealthy dietary habits, such as excessive consumption of sugary beverages and fast food, have contributed significantly to a global rise in obesity, diabetes and other diet-related health problems. Therefore, governments should implement laws and regulations to mitigate these issues. Such measures can include imposing high taxes on sugary drinks, restricting the marketing and promotion of unhealthy food to children and requiring clear labelling of nutritional information on food products. It is believed that these measures can alleviate diet-related diseases, reduce the financial burden on the healthcare system and promote a healthier society. On the other hand, opponents argue that individuals should have the autonomy to make their own choices about what they can eat. Their justification is that the positive or negative impacts of food on customers' well-being can vary widely from one person to another. Thus, governments cannot use their authority to interfere with consumers' decision-making, for fear that they would make a wrong choice. Additionally, unhealthy food or not can be seen differently since people have various preferences and financial conditions. In other words, it depends on one's lifestyle and personal levels of happiness. As a result, strict laws banning all types of unhealthy food can negatively affect human beings because they ought to adjust their eating habits which are undesirable sometimes. In conclusion, I firmly assert that it is unreasonable for goverments government to control people's nutrition manners and eating habits. Instead, they should focus their effort on restricting advertisements and promotions of unhealthy food and educating their citizens about the adverse influences of these types of food on their health.