Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although some people arguing that there are a lot of benefit for the host country to organize a global sport event, sometimes hosting an international sport event bring to some issues such as work condition. Furthermore, these events are used to cover dramatic and awful situation inside the nation, in this case it is not possible to say that a global sport event is good for the country. First of all, there are some benefits of hosting a global sport event such as renovation of the sport structures, more workplaces and also a lot of tourism. All these variables are very important for the economy of a nation and there is no doubt about it. For example, in the 2026 in Italy there will be the winter Olympics. This event has brought to a lot of other events, tourism and the reconstruction of the winter sport structures in Italy, creating new job opportunities, impacting in a positive way on the Italian economy. Having said that, there are a lot of bad scenarios of hosting a global event and who sustain that an international sport event is not good for the country usually arguing about the event like a laundry machine for money. Specifically, this people arguing that is used for spending and recycling money in a hidden way covered by the mediatic attention that the sport event brings with itself. For instance, this is the case of the last world cup organised in Qatar which exploded in an international case called as Qatar-gate. Furthermore, it was signalised the bad condition of workers and the corruption of some Euro Parliamentary and FIFA president and committee from Qatar to be chosen as host country. Moreover, it seems that nation decide to be host of a global sport event to hide and cover national issue and show to the entire world that the country is in a good situation. Two examples of this case are the Olympics in Germany during the Second World War and the 2014 World Cup in Brazil. To conclude, during the human history it is shown how hosting an international sport event is a politics vehicle to cover and hide terrible situations. For this reason it is necessary that the authorities, who have the decision power about which nation will host a global event such as Olympics, also evaluate others criteria like the social situation of the hosting nation.