Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?

It is true that we live in a world today dominated by technology. Some old people find it hard to cope with these recent breakthroughs. In this essay, I will discuss how the elderly can profit from using advanced technologies, in addition, I will mention several methods that can be used to encourage them to use electronic devices more than often. Retired individuals can benefit from the recent phone Apps in order to help them organise their schedule better; therefore, aid them to remember some specific dates, for example, an App called YET is designed to notify subscribers two hours before their next appointment. Moreover, through some new Applications, they can get in touch with their kids or relatives easily and on a daily basis in comparison to before, for instance, with the aid of Viber you can call and even see your family at any time free of charge. To ensure that these new technologies are appealing to this category, companies have to take several steps and the most obvious one is to make sure that the usage is simple and doesn't require sophisticated skills, because one of the reasons why this technology is not popular amongst the elderly is its complexity, additionally, include a guidebook with each new device, for instance, iPhone has begun with this strategy with its recent announcements. Furthermore, companies have to make sure that the advertisement of their products is in the right place where this group of citizens can notice it, a good example is in newspapers, because a vast majority of them still read journals every day. To conclude, in this essay, I have discussed various advantages that technology can bring to the life of the old as well as potential methods to encourage them to utilise it more.