Nowadays, more and more people choose to do their shopping onlineinstead of going to physical stores. Why is this so? What are the disadvantages of this trend?

The internet is cutting-edge technology that grows rapidly and changes people's way of living including shopping. Presently, many individuals prefer to purchase online rather than go to shopping malls. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend as well as drawbacks which cannot be overlooked. To commence with, there are a plethora of reasons which increase the tendency of online shopping instead of buying from local markets. Firstly, the advancements in technology have significantly changed consumers buying behaviour. There are various online platforms such as Amazon, Shein and Flipkart that compel consumers to purchase online by providing a huge collection of products which is not possible while buying from street markets or offline outlets. Secondly, comparison with other brands can be easily done by folks from the comfort of their homes while purchasing final products. However, in physical,stores a limited edition may discourage customers to shop from local traders. Therefore, local shoppers can not generate more income from online platforms. Conversely, online fraud is one of the major drawbacks while purchasing anything online. This means that there are enormous high-tech hackers who are trying to steal customers' personal information including their payment cards and deliver duplicate products by making fake online shopping websites. While, if people purchase anything in shops on their own they can not face these kinds of problems. For example, CBI issued a report indicating that more than an 80% chance of online fraud as compared to physical shopping. Besides, no specialized staff assistance is available while buying something online regarding their measurements, sizes and length of products. But, if buyers purchase anything from the local sellers they can get a chance to personal interaction and choose, touch and try products before making a final purchasing decision. Therefore, these reasons highly discourage buyers to buy anything online. To conclude, there is a number of benefits of online shopping associated with improvements in technology, and the vast availability of products while fraud and a lack of interactions with staff are extremely affected by this tendency.