In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern cities, it has become a standard to separate services such as accommodation, shops, public institutions and others into different areas to make a clear distinction between them. Although not everybody welcomes this new approach to organisation, I would argue that by this arrangement, engineers and architects significantly improve the living experience in cities. People who are not fond of a separate design may argue that the citizens of such cities may find it difficult to navigate through buildings since shops, offices, and public institutions may be separated by long distances. When buildings are packed into regions in accordance with their purpose, each region usually covers a massive area, and moving between various institutions requires traversing longer distances compared to conventional cities. For example, parents may find it difficult to bring their children to school and then navigate to their work. However, establishing a well-organised transportation system throughout a city can become a trivial solution to this problem. On the bright side, living areas significantly improve on giving its residents a good experience with the new design of cities. Inhabitants do not have to deal with the increased levels of noise from shops, traffic and schools if their accommodation is isolated. Furthermore, it makes similar services easy to locate. For instance, instead of being scattered throughout the entire city, shops will have a single entry point in one area. Thus, in terms of living convenience, contemporary cities having separated businesses, shops and living areas provide a much superior experience to their inhabitants compared to their traditional counterparts. To conclude, city planners today increasingly distinguish between apartment buildings, schools and business locations, which, I believe, brings a better organisation to the city infrastructure and results in excellent living conditions for residents.