In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

There are some advantages and disadvantages between teaching children at home and children going to school. Personally, I would agree with children going to school. Based on my own childhood experience, children need to get knowledge (to avoid a repeat of experiences) of the outside world. Humans cannot prosper/develop alone. Teaching children at home is a form of isolation. Children might become antisocial and selfish. Less communication and negotiation skills would make them lower in sympathy and empathy due to living in a small world (spoiled). Children going to school will see improvement through comparison and competition. They are learning and collaborating with each other. They may improve their social skills and cooperation skills. They can learn about society and build their own community in the future. They will learn based on their experiences and be able to compare who is trustworthy and who is not. On the contrary, teaching children at home may improve focus on education and parents not to worry about bullying and the ‘wrong friendships’. Parents can rule (discipline/raise) children without being disturbed by other different cultures. Children have been raised according to family traditional ways, and would be able to sustain the family culture. Children who are open-minded and have social skills will not be afraid to communicate with others.They are more mature than children who are isolated at home. Since they may have a variety of ideas from learning and (more than likely) higher EQ. To sum up, it is best that parents decide based on the situation. Those children who have health conditions are often better taught at home. In my,opinion children going to school is better, and I agree with this because we as a society and community will continue to survive.