More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think is a possible solution?

In developing nations, the number of first-sale cars is increasing. This leads to more vehicles flooding the streets, which causes air quality degradation and a higher percentage of car accidents. The most viable solution to these problems could be enhancements in the policies of transport regulation. The progressive trend in auto sales can have detrimental effects on the environment, with air quality being the first to suffer. More cars on the road means more gas emissions will be produced, causing environmental pollution. Another issue is that the number of car accidents is likely to rise as streets become increasingly jam-packed over time and as less space is available for parking cars. In these circumstances, drivers will have a greater chance of hitting others while commuting. For example, in Ukraine, an increase in traffic accidents has been observed during the past decade, which has brought a certain level of inconvenience to the government and problems to all road users. To solve these issues, the authorities could implement some adjustments in traffic regulation policies. The environmental impact of combustion engines could be mitigated by prohibiting the usage of non-electric vehicles in downtown areas and by committing to the development of extra green zones. Consequently, this approach is expected to lead to improvements in air quality. For instance, in Kyiv, the restriction has been applied to all private transport in the city centre on weekends, and the surrounding streets have been pedestrianized, with numerous attractions being performed there. In conclusion, the growth of car sales in developing countries is a positive sign for the country's economy; however, it also presents drawbacks, such as air pollution and more traffic accidents. Government actions, such as policy adjustments to reduce exhaust emissions and open up additional green spaces, could help to resolve these issues.