Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The number of people who are suffering from illness and prefer to go to complementary medicine practitioners rather than visit professional healthcare workers is on the rise at present days. I believe this is a negative progress because the alternative treatments are not proven in a scientific manner and it may complicate the case if the disease was critical. Firstly, Many people prefer to believe in alternative medicine as a short and easy way to recover from their diseases. Although integrative treatment is not proven and there is not sufficient research on it. Moreover, there is not any evidence that it can treat any syndrome. For example, My friend was suffering from a migraine which is a severe kind of headache and he tried cupping and blood letting which is a form of alternative medicine but after several trials without any, improvement he returned to his physician. Hence, I believe that increasing the number of people who receive alternative treatment is a negative step. Secondly, When people decided to stop taking their medications they give the chance for the disease to become worse especially if the illness is risky. For instance, critical diseases like cancer and tumour are very sensitive to time. when patients stop their chemotherapy because they want to try the integrative treatments and after a period of time they realised that it does not work but their case became worse. As a result, I perceive that complementary medicine is a negative development. In conclusion, people should not trust alternative medicine as it is not built on scientific bases and their case might be turned worse after waiting time away from true medicine. Therefore I consider that the growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor is a negative development