Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?. Has this become a positive or negative development? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the technological developments, the modes of communication have changed drastically over the years. Many people would be seen chatting online on social platforms with people living far away in different states or countries, completely ignoring the person sitting next to them. Due to social networking sites and the internet, relationships have changed a lot. In my opinion, the development has both merits and demerits. No one can deny that with the internet society has come closer. Nowadays, folks have to move to different places for studies and work. During this time, technology comes to the rescue as it helps an individual to stay connected to his family and roots. My father was on an assignment in a different country for five long years, it was the internet that helped us to be in touch with him and support him during his tough times. Moreover, networking sites such as Facebook, and Twitter have helped communities to connect to each other and share their culture which has resulted in globalisation. Therefore, globalisation is the biggest advantage of the internet. On the other hand, while it helps to maintain relationships globally, the person sitting in the same room is completely ignored. For instance, the young generation is highly invested in the online culture that they rarely talk to their parents these days. Additionally, there is an increase in the number of cyber crimes rate lately. People end up being scammed by fake identity profiles, and calls which make them suffer emotionally, mentally and financially. Hence, one has to be very cautious about communicating online. To sum up, there are both advantages and disadvantages of technological enhancements in the communication field as stated above. However, a balance between online relationships and in-person communication is essential. One has to be mindful in choosing friends on the internet to avoid any future harassment scenarios.