Some people believe that the climate of a country has the greatest influence on its culture (e.g food, arts, music, clothing). Others believe that there are more important influences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that culture is significantly affected by the climate of a country. However, some people think that there are more prominent factors that impact the way of life. This essay will explain both views and how I believe that technologies and religious values play roles in shaping culture. On one hand, a different season in each country impacts natural resources such as water and fertile land, which in turn can influence diets, customs, and way of life. Tropical state benefits from growing crops due to the soil quality, as opposed to countries covered with ice, which makes the crops more vulnerable, especially in extreme winter. For example, in Indonesia, the citizens generally consume rice every day because of the overwhelming supplies from paddy, and it has become the primary food for centuries. In other words, people ’s selection of food could be determined by the weather. On the other hand, despite climate affecting the culture, I would argue that other factors must be considered. Firstly, the growth of religious practices will significantly impact how people rule their life. To illustrate, women with Islamic values are obligated to cover some of their body parts, (affecting) effecting how they dress and choose an outfit. As a result, their decision to wear clothes is based on their faith rather than the seasons. Secondly, in my view, technological advancement also impacts the citizens as it allows them to change their lifestyle into a modern environment, leaving conventional ways behind. For example, Japan is well known for having advanced technologies, especially in modern public transportation, which enables them to go by public trains to commute every day. This means that technologies play an essential role in the daily life of millions of people, especially in mobility which has become one of the most critical aspects in societies. In conclusion, climate affects how people consume their foods due to land fertility. However, I remain convinced that religious practices and technologies impact the way of life on a larger scale.