People today can use the internet to learn about lives and cultures in other countries, so it is not necessary to travel anymore. Do you agree?

The internet this day is a pool of information, so much that people can study all about the lives and culture of other parts of the world without necessarily visiting those areas. While not playing down the value of data accessible from the web, I do not agree it has removed the need to travel. On the one hand, information about the lifestyle of people as available on the internet is detailed and verified, giving a picture of their behaviour irrespective of what part of the world you access it from, it remains the same. For example, as available from different websites, the eastern part of Nigeria is occupied by the Igbo, predominantly industrious traders, who speak Igbo as their indigenous dialect, are hospitable, have a range of local delicacies such as Nsala soup, Achara soup and celebrate the new yam festival yearly. On the other hand, despite all the details available from the internet, it is impossible to fully appreciate a culture without interacting with it and this can only happen by physical presence in the locality. For instance, the satisfaction from Nsala soup can only be known by eating it, the passion for the new yam festival can only be felt by participating in it, and the hospitality of an Igbo man can only be felt by visiting him. In summary, despite the volume of knowledge deposited on the internet, travelling to a location helps us fully understand and appreciate the culture of the people.