Some people think that university education should be free, while others believe students should pay for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although many people reckon that students should be required to pay for their studies at university, I agree with some groups of society who deny this and think it should be free because fee-based education might ignore social equality. On the one hand, students can feel the value of education if they are required to pay for university. For example, in many economically developed countries, most of the universities are on a paid basis, and they give financial aid to only those whose academic achievements deserve this. Moreover, thanks to the paid educational system, there would be a huge competition in the way of getting financial aid to students. Students will study even reluctantly to get into a dream university that gives aid. However, this system may negatively affect students ’ mental health. On the other hand, there will be social equality when there is equal access to higher education for all citizens. For example, if there is a fee-based educational system, some groups of society will not be able to afford an education for themselves while richer people get an education without any distractions. Consequently, this can cause social problems in the country which lead to conflicts. Plus, there are plenty of socially vulnerable but intelligent students who cannot afford paid education, and free courses at universities may be effective for them. In conclusion, even if some people believe that fee-based education can enhance the competence among students, I reckon that all studies should be free for citizens because it can be seen as a main example of equality.