Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people believe that junk foods can have detrimental effects on both the individual and society as a whole. They think a solution to this problem would be to add a charge to these items at purchase, whereas others think this is unjust. In my opinion, there is a valid argument for both considerations. To distinguish between certain foods enjoyed by groups of people can be considered discrimination. Those who enjoy partaking in unhealthy eating, do so to themselves without hurting others, therefore they should not be marginalised for their choices. Moreover, there is also an issue of where the threshold lies to consider food groups to be unhealthy. For example, a vegan can be versed on the studies to show that meat is damaging to the human body, whereas a carnivore can produce articles which show how much good the consumption of the same items can do. There are conflicting beliefs and information and therefore without a suitable boundary, it is impossible to say which foods should be taxed and which should not. However, there is also the logic that those who eat unhealthy foods will feed their loved ones the same dishes. This applies to children who do not have a say in what food is put on the table. For instance, a child who is brought up on crisps and fizzy drinks will have consumed many more preservatives and chemicals than a child who is given fresh fruit and vegetables. This is not the action of the children, but of the caretakers and therefore taxing such items may deter them from purchasing it. In conclusion, I believe that if there is a viable understanding of which foods fall into which classification, there should be a charge added to the unhealthy category. This can force people to be more mindful when choosing what should be consumed, allowing for a healthier society.